# Online e- Short Term Course on "Advances in Transportation and Environmental Geotechnics (ATEG-2022)"

4<sup>th</sup> April - 8<sup>th</sup> April 2022



# **Coordinators**

Dr. Manendra Singh Dr. Jitendra Singh Yadav

## Organized by



Department of Civil Engineering National Institute of Technology Hamirpur Hamirpur-177005 (H.P.)

# About the Institute

National Institute of Technology Hamirpur is one of the thirty-one NITs of the country, which came into existence on 7<sup>th</sup> August 1986 as Regional Engineering College, a joint and cooperative enterprise of the Govt. of India and Govt. of Himachal Pradesh. On 26<sup>th</sup> June 2002, REC Hamirpur was awarded the status of Deemed University and upgraded to National Institute of Technology. The Institute offers Bachelor, Master and Doctoral programs in Engineering, Sciences, Architecture, Management and Humanities. Various programs serve the purpose of building a comprehensive foundation of knowledge and of enhancing confidence, creativity and innovation in its students.

# About the Department

National Institute of Technology, Hamirpur was established in the year 1986 and the Civil Engineering Department is part of the institute since its inception. Civil Engineering is the branch with a lot of diversity right from structural to transportation engineering, environmental to hydrology to hydraulics engineering, geology to geo-technology to earthquake engineering. Being one of the primary Engineering Departments of the Institute, the Department of Civil Engineering offers B. Tech., M. Tech. and Ph.D. degree programs. The Department has been imparting quality education at undergraduate and postgraduate level. The faculty members have been active in teaching, research as well as academic activities.

#### Patron

Prof. Hiralal Murlidhar Suryawanshi Director, NIT Hamirpur (H.P.)

#### Chairperson

Dr. S. S. Katoch Head, DoCE, NIT Hamirpur (H.P.)

#### Convener

Prof. R. K. Dutta Professor, DoCE, NIT Hamirpur (H.P.)

#### Coordinators

Dr. Manendra Singh Dr. Jitendra Singh Yadav Assistant Professor, DoCE, NIT Hamirpur (H.P.)

#### **Organizing Committee**

Prof. R K Sharma	Dr. Subhadip Biswas
Prof. Raman Parti	Dr. Manendra Singh
Prof. R.K. Dutta	Dr. Ray Singh Meena
Dr. S.S. Katoch	Dr. J S Yadav
Dr. Pardeep Kumar	Dr. Vimal Kumar
Dr. R.S. Banshtu	Secretarial Assistanc
Dr. Vijay Shankar	Mr. V.S. Dogra
Dr. V. K. Bansal	Technical Assistance
Dr. Umesh Pandey	Mr. Balbir Singh
Dr. Chander Prakash	Mr. Parkash Singh
Dr. Sunil Sharma	Mr. Naresh Kumar
Dr. Amrit Kumar Roy	Mr. Rahul Jamwal
Dr. Dharmendra	Mr. Vikrant Singh
Dr. K.Nallasivam	Mr. Sahil Katoch
Dr. Joy Pal	Office Assistance
Dr. Joseph Tripura	Mr. Surender Kumar

ce

## About the e-STC

The Civil Engineering department, National Institute of Technology, Hamirpur is organizing one-week e-Short Term Course (e-STC), "Advances in Transportation and Environmental Geotechnics (ATEG-2022)"during 4th April- 8th April 2022 at NIT Hamirpur. The Civil engineering department welcomes researchers, engineers and industry professionals to an open forum where recent developments in the field of Geotechnical Engineering will be shared. The program will feature keynote lectures delivered by eminent experts from the various leading institutes and Industries. The course will be encompassing the broad topics within the realm of all domain of Geotechnical Engineering for research and professional development of engineering fraternities. The course aims to provide a platform for the faculties, students, research scholars and practicing engineers to enlighten their knowledge on the various recent aspects of Geotechnical Engineering.

#### Topics to be covered

- Geotechnical properties of geomaterials for rational and sustainable design and construction
- Behaviour of stabilized/compacted geomaterials
- Geosynthetics and reinforcement of constructed layers and interlayers
- Ground improvement and slope stability for transportation infrastructures
- Embankments for highways and highspeed trains
- Biological processes in soil
- Waste management/Utilization of wastes
- The impact of climatic changes on geoenvironmental
- Geothermal/ground-source energy

#### **Resource Persons**

Prof. Krishna Reddy, UIC, USA Prof. N. K. Samadhiya, IIT Roorkee Prof. B. K Maheshwari, IIT Roorkee Prof. Priti Maheshwari , IIT Roorkee Prof. Ashwani Jain, NIT Kurukshetra Prof. Ashwani Jain, NIT Kurukshetra Prof. R. K. Sharma, NIT Hamirpur Prof. R. K. Dutta, NIT Hamirpur Prof. Neelima Satyam, IIT Indore Prof. C.H. Solanki SVNIT Suart Dr. Arindam Dey, IIT Guwahati Dr. Arindam Dey, IIT Guwahati Dr. Sreevalsa Kolathayar, NIT Karnataka Dr. Ankit Garg, Shantou University China Dr. Nitin Goyal, CSIR-NEERI, Mumbai Dr. Arvind Kumar Jha, IIT Patna Dr. Anasua Guha Ray, BITS Hyderabad

#### **Important Dates**

Last date (Online Registration): 02-04-2022 Confirmation by E-mail: 03-04-2022

e-STC Duration: 04-04-2022 to 08-04-2022

#### **Eligibility**

This program is open to faculty members, scientists, research scholars, PG & UG Students and industrial personnel.

# e-Registration

Registration Fee: Through SBI Collect

- (a) Rs. 200 for students
- (b) Rs. 500 for participants from Academia/R&D Labs
- (c) Rs. 1000 for participants from Industry

## How to Apply

The interested candidates must deposit the nonrefundable registration fee through SBI collect Prof. Krishna Reddy, LTC, USA with the following procedure: Prof. N. K. Samadhiya, ITT Roorkee a. Go to SBI, collect and choose Himachal Prof. B. KMahashwati IITT Roorkee of histitution and type of Prof. Pritin Mahashwati an Edirecardoffal institute. Prof. Ashemoidain NITH Kuntheahetfrom Name of the Prof. R. KNORKSNOPHEAHoffal institute. Prof. R. KNORKSNOPHEAHoffal CONFERENCE. Prof. B. AttMit/ NITY Stillingabi.com/sbicollect/icollecth Prof. Nechning Salyam, IIT Indore Dr. M<sup>C</sup>N. Generate the payment slip and attach it with the registration form available at the following Dr. Arindam Dey, IIT Guwahati Intk. Dr. Ankit Gazg/Shanton University, China 1 mIVLY opp Dr. Nitin Goyal, CSJR(NEERI, Mumbark Ln96U3K-Dr. Arvind COmmit Jha, IIT Patna Dr. Anasua GuhaRay, BITS Hyderabad

<u>Notes:</u> \*Applications will be accepted on first come-first serve basis.

\*Venue: Through Google Meet. The link for the online course will be shared through email later.

# e-Certification

E-certificates will be provided to the participants, with at least 80% attendance, upon successful completion of the program.

## **Contact Details**

Dr. Jitendra Singh Yadav Dr. Manendra Singh Email: jsyadav@nith ac.in Mob.: +91-9653787165 Mob.: +91-7895208814

> Prof. R. K. Dutta Email: <u>rkd@nith.ac.in</u> Mob.: 91-9418254990